The Central Australian Family Violence and Sexual Assault Network (CAFVSAN) exists to eliminate domestic, family violence and sexual violence from the community. 


The network was established in 1995 and brings together over 40 Central Australian government and non-government agencies, working in the field of domestic, family violence and sexual violence, or who have substantial numbers of clients impacted by domestic, family violence and sexual violence.

Watercolor Brush 3

The monthly CAFVSAN meetings provide a forum for discussion, sharing information and advocacy, specific to the issues around domestic, family violence in Central Australia. Attendance is by invite only from the secretariat or another network member and meetings are not open to the public.

The guiding principles of CAFVSAN are:

The network’s vision is to collectively and proactively identify strategies to eliminate domestic, family violence and sexual assault within the social context of Central Australia.


Meetings are held on the first Friday of each month, or as set by the network. 

Women’s Safety Services of Central Australia (WoSSCA) acts as the CAFVSAN secretariat.  

  • Everyone has the right to be free from all forms of violence and the fear of violence.

  • Action on violence prevention is the responsibility of the whole community.

  • The community needs to be empowered and mobilised to take action on domestic and family violence and sexual assault.

  • Violence, including violence against women and children needs to be understood in its entire social context

  • CAFVSAN has a responsibility to be inclusive of the views and cultural, social, linguistic and geographic diversity of the Central Australian population.

  • To ensure more streamlined service delivery, to increase collaboration and prevent duplication of domestic, family and sexual violence services.

  • Use sector-specific language when discussing domestic, family and sexual violence.

The Network

The following organisations send representatives to the CAFVSAN meetings, or receive minutes from CAFVSAN:


  • Catholic Care NT

  • Central Australian Aboriginal Congress (CAAC)

  • Central Australian Aboriginal Family Legal Unit (CAAFLU)

  • Central Australian Women’s Legal Service (CAWLS)


  • Inkintja Men’s Health (Congress - CAAC)



  • Ngaanyatjarra Pitjantatjara Yankunytjatjara Women’s Council (NPY)

  • North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (NAAJA)

  • Northern Territory Council of Social Service (NTCOSS)

  • Northern Territory Community Corrections


Upcoming Meetings

If you would like to send a representative to a meeting please email so we can add you to our mailing list.



CAFVSAN Terms Of Reference: Guiding Principles

CAFVSAN Terms Of Reference: Operations


Aboriginal Justice Agreement Submission CAFVSAN (Sent 6.05.2020)